ITLOS: new President and Vice-President elected

Judge Golitsyn (Russian Federation) was elected as President of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea and Judge Bouguetaia (Algeria) as Vice-President for the period 2014–2017 by the members of the Tribunal. (press release).

In further news: Mr Alonso Gómez-Robledo Verduzco (Mexico) and Mr Tomas Heidar (Iceland) were sworn in as members of the Tribunal. The two judges were elected at the twenty-fourth Meeting of States Parties to the United Nations Convention on the Law of the Sea to serve a term of nine years, commencing on 1 October 2014. (press release).

Leave a comment

Filed under International Organizations

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.