PSMA: Entry into Force 5 June 2016

The 2009 FAO Agreement on Port State Measures to Prevent, Deter and Eliminate Illegal, Unreported and Unregulated Fishing (PSMA), has reached the required threshold of formal deposits of adherence and will therefore enter into force on 5 June 2016. According to the FAO press release, the following states and regional economic integration organization are parties to the PSMA: Australia, Barbados, Chile, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, European Union – Member Organization, Gabon, Guinea Bissau, Guyana, Iceland, Mauritius, Mozambique, Myanmar, New Zealand, Norway, Oman, Palau, Republic of Korea, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Seychelles, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Thailand, Tonga, United States of America, Uruguay, and Vanuatu.

For more information, see the FAO press release here.

Unconfirmed reports also suggest Gambia has ratified the PSMA within its internal National Assembly, however, according to the FAO website, it has not yet formally deposited an instrument of adherence.

Leave a comment

Filed under Treaties

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.