Antigua and Barbuda/Tuvalu: Accord to Establish Commission of Small Island States on Climate Change & International Law

On 1 November 2021, Prime Minister Gaston Browne (Antigua and Barbuda) and Prime Minister Kausea Natano (Tuvalu) announced the signing of an Accord on 31 October 2021 which establishes a Commission of Small Island Developing States on Climate Change and International Law. The Commission is open to all small island states globally to join. During the Press Conference, the founding members signalled that the Accord authorises the Commission to request an advisory opinion from ITLOS concerning climate change, sea-level rise, protection of the marine environment and international responsibilities. The exact strategy, including potential questions to be put before ITLOS, are to be developed by the Commission. On the advisory opinion jurisdiction of ITLOS, see Articles 16 and 21 of the Statute of the International Tribunal for the Law of the Sea (Annex VI of UNCLOS); Article 138 of the Rules of the Tribunal; and the SRFC Advisory Opinion.

Leave a comment

Filed under International Organizations, State Practice

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.